Conflicting views


While taking the quiz, I found many of my beliefs to be conflicting.  For example, while I generally do not support government intervention and regualtion in business, I also found myself supporting that the government should take any steps to protect the environment.  These ideas can be conflicting because in order to have the government protect the environment to the fullest, this would most likely include government regulation of business practices.  The government would have to tell businesses how they should operate in order to be environmentally friendly.  This could include telling businesses how to allocate their resources and changing the goal and values in businesses.  I found this cartoon which embodies this conflict.

'We want you to take power over your work, and this is how we want you to do it.'

This cartoon shows my political view that I think businesses should have power over the work that they do and should have the power to decide how to run their business, however on certain issues, like the environment, I think that the government should take steps to make sure that businesses are acting in a particular way.  I think this shows my difference in opinion between my political opinions on social issue and fiscal issues.  I think the government plays and important role and should often intervene to make changing in social issues.  However, when it comes to fiscal matters I think the government should stay away and let the business operate how they think is best fit.  Clearly, there are times were these two opinions relate to the same situation and this is were I find my two political opinions contradicting each other.  However, I think that issues like the environment are veery important for politics to play a role in, governmentally or by other people.  People need to be vocal about social issues like this so that people understand that there are people in support and that these issues are important to people.

If I was a manager and encountered a stakeholder who had a strong opinion on an issues that opposed my own opinion or someone else’s in the company, I would not view this as a bad thing.  I think many times when people have conflicting opinions or view it results in some of the best decisions.  Although it takes more time to deal with these conflicts, these decisions are often more balanced and accommodate more peoples interest.  These decisions are typically more neutral and therefore more people are satisfied.  When more people are satisfied this would usual means that more stakeholder value is created.

12 responses to “Conflicting views

  1. Do you think managers today do take into account their stakeholders values? Or do you think that they simply try to ignore them? I agree that more value would be created if managers choose to listen to the stakeholders who have opinions that conflict with their own. But today I think that most managers simply ignore these stakeholders to avoid conflict. Many stakeholders have ideas and beliefs that are conflicting such as yourself so I think this makes it even harder for managers to please everyone and create the stakeholder value you talk about.

    Like

    • Satisfying the needs of and aligning values with all stakeholders is indeed difficult. I agree that pleasing all stakeholders is nearly impossible, so managers often shy away from touchy subjects. What’s better–avoiding unnecessary negative publicity or sharing your views?

      Like

  2. Do you believe that if government did not intervene companies would truly take actions to protect stakeholders (such as the environment in your example)? I was very similar with my quiz results where I opposed government intervention but supported government protection of the environment and also felt this conflict. I think that certain companies would value protecting the environment, but I am not sure that enough to truly protect the environment would without government regulation.

    Like

    • Likewise, I’m pretty skeptical that the majority of companies would do the right thing. If we look at China for example, the prime directive for the past 30 years has been economic growth. The government has rarely enforced already lax environmental regulations. The result is polluted air, land and water that is measurably shortening the lives of Chinese citizens.

      Like

  3. Reading these comments I kept going back and forth on whether or not I believe companies would do the right thing. In society today people are trying to protect the environment because it is something many consumers care about. I think that companies would want to make the right impression on their consumers that they would inevitably try to do the right thing so they do not get any bad publicity.

    Like

    • I agree that many companies will change so that they “give the right impressions” or avoid bad publicity. Do you think this is a bad thing? Or is it just another way that companies are embracing stakeholderism?

      Like

      • I don’t think this is a bad thing as long as it is genuine. Companies should be able to do the right thing (i.e. focus on environmental sustainability) and reap the benefits of their investment in it (i.e. PR/Marketing campaigns)

        Like

  4. You claim to want to give companies more power in their decision making, but I believe many companies would take advantage immediately because they could not be competitive if they could not. This goes back to the necessity for companies to produce goods at the lowest cost to generate the most profits while selling products cheaper than their competitors. It is the role of the government to force businesses act responsibly, otherwise the customers would suffer much like in Upton Sinclair’s novel “The Jungle”.

    Like

  5. Going off of Kerry’s comment, I do not think that it is necessarily a bad thing of companies change to “give the right impressions”. In the end, this makes them do the right things. Ideally, companies do certain actions because they believe in them, but if they end up making good choices, regardless of the motivation, it is a step in the right direction.

    Like

  6. In the cartoon, you see the book-wielding man as the government? I see ti as any one working in a bureaucracy And that book of protocols? It was partly written by institutional logics.

    Like

Leave a Reply

