An Apple a Day Scares Your Friends Away…


I found a very interesting article contrasting two recent iPhone advertisements. Some of us may be familiar with the new iPhone holiday Apple ad. For those who aren’t, it shows a teen obsessively occupied with his phone during the holiday family time. In the end after many emotional scenes that he seems to be missing out on, he turns the TV on to show his family the movie he had made capturing all of these moments. Many describe this new iPhone ad as a tearjerker due to the unexpected ending.

The article juxtaposed this ad with the “I Forgot My Phone” advertisement for the general public. This ad aimed to emphasize how often our generation is using their Smartphone’s without realizing how rude they are being. It walks through an entire day with a woman who is constantly surrounded by peers with phones in front of their faces, occupying their attention.

The argument made in the article I read was that both advertisements were extreme and telling “half-lies”. The reasoning behind this is valid as it is unlikely that a removed teenager will create an emotional family video, and that every person in a woman’s life will be on their phone, but I challenge you to truly question what this article is concluding. Their final statement is “No more phone videos! Peace in the land! Happy holidays!” encouraging people to simply find a happy medium between the actions in the two advertisements.

I disagree with the conclusion of the article. I was able to relate to both advertisements when the main character was either ignoring family time, or being ignored because of their iPhone. As much as pictures and videos can bring a family together, I rarely see teenagers using phones for this purpose. I think that our generation is way too dependent on our Smartphone’s. We have come to the point where we avoid awkward social situations easily by looking down at our Smartphone’s and walking by a situation.

Phone-Addiction-Checking

With the popularity of the new iPhone, this whole other aspect of the negative impacts it constantly has on society is overlooked. This should be in the news for the public to be aware of what is going on so that we can begin to change our habits.

I fear that this lack of communication and removal from societies natural social interactions will negatively effect our future generations of humans. Will this eventually affect business and client relationships? Will people eventually forget how to interact? Could we survive in a completely digital world?

 

16 responses to “An Apple a Day Scares Your Friends Away…

  1. I totally agree I myself am a teen, and kinda think I’m a bit unfortunate living in a technology obsessed generation. I think I’ve been born in the wrong era.
    If you have a spare minute please take a look at my blog.
    Sophia xx

    Like

  2. I particularly liked what you said about client/business relationships. Just the other day, a professional told me that she’s “forgotten” how to talk on the phone! Cell phones certainly add much value and convenience to our lives, but this is at the expense of basic social skills…

    Like

  3. Exactly… I worry that the basic social skills that are being lost are essential for human growth and existence. Do you (or the whole class) think there is anything that can be done to stop this trend, or at least slow it down?

    Like

    • I think the best remedy would just be actively trying to make an effort to put the phones down. I know I like to collect phones sometimes with my friends when we’re out to dinner to just avoid the distraction all together.

      Like

    • With increasingly interconnected personal technologies, we have become less interconnected with one another. I find it troubling that as a society, we have lost touch with face-to-face interaction, instead opting for our keyboards and phone screens. Unfortunately, I do not see this trend slowing down anytime soon. It will require a cultural shift in perspective to revitalize more innately human modes of communication.

      Like

  4. We all enjoy our phones, its hard to ignore. It is an epidemic addiction throughout the country. I wonder how the future social development will be altered because of it. It is funny that your graph starts at age 18. I’m sure there is an entire category starting as early as age 4 or 5 using iPads. I hope we consider them advisable tools of the future!

    Like

  5. I totally agree that society it too attached to our smart phones but I only see this problem getting worse. I am able to recognize what a large issue this is, but I am still personally attached to my smartphone. I am able to recognize that there is something wrong, but I still cannot cut ties with it. I struggle to find a resolution to the issue of smart phones and personally I think it is only going to get worse in the future. It seems that we have to find a way to stop this obsession with our phones, have you thought of any ways we can do this?

    Like

  6. I had seen both of these videos before this blog post and find myself leaning more towards the the “I Forgot My Phone” video in terms of realness. To me the heavy use of technology, even if it is to document social moments, makes the whole thing seem fake. Sure the iPhone kid made a memorable video of his family, but did he really experience those events? No, he often just recorded them from afar instead of engaging. I see people all the time who document their “social moments” but there is no realism to it. Even today I saw two girls take a selfie of themselves at breakfast together, then proceed to sit on their phones while eating “together” for 10 minutes. I truly dislike the social dependency on technology that is developing and try to combat it in my own life constantly. I challenge myself to walk to class without touching my phone and call “no phone time” when I’m with others at meals where I put my phone in the middle of the table and encourage others to do the same. I also hate the association of just children with addiction to these technologies. Sure the stereotypical teen is always on their phone, but I know a great amount of adults who do the same thing claiming that when they do this it is ok because it is for business or something professional. Sorry for the wall of text, I’m just really interested in this topic!

    Like

  7. I think it’s really interesting to think about that strategy meetings that took place at Apple to design their ad. Since it’s impossible to deny or ignore our newfound inseparability from our smartphones, they decided to try to position it as a good thing. The ad is emotional and heartwarming and drives home the underlying idea that our smartphones are a means of digitally documenting our lives and using it to connect with others. And I think that this is a legitimate value of the smartphone “epidemic.” So while I completely agree that being so dependent on and constantly preoccupied by our smartphones, I think that using them for their core purpose of connecting, sharing, and communicating is a valuable one.

    Like

  8. Britt, I asked the same question myself earlier. Maybe there can be an app that only allows you to use your phone for a certain number of hours per day? (if you opt in of course)

    Like

  9. It is sad to say, but when someone calls me instead of texting, I sometimes look down at my phone and think, “but why wouldn’t they just text me back instead?” The way our generation has become dependent on smartphones for daily life is mind-blowing. Do we even think that the term ‘cell phone’ will stay in use before society makes the permanent switch to ‘smartphone?’

    Like

  10. I agree with what Dan said and think we should definitely look at younger children when we discuss the use of smartphone and electronics. When I am with my younger cousins, it seem like giving them a tablet or iPad of some sort could occupy them for hours. They are able to sit quietly and tune out everything else. While this may be good for babysitting purposes, I think this is perpetuating the problem even further. I cannot imagine how addicted to our technology our generation would be if we started being reliant on them at age 4. I am curious to see what will happen in the future.

    Like

  11. Pingback: Better late than never: session 9 BC report | Stakeholders:Uncensored·

Leave a Reply

