Virtue Ethics


I am writing paper 2 on FIFA, the 2022 Qatari World Cup, and examining FIFA’s virtue ethics. The ubiquity of labor camps in the Middle East mirrors slavery in some ways. For example, many migrants who flock to the Middle East to find work have their passports taken from them by their employers on arrival. Without a passport, these migrants cannot leave the Middle East, and are stuck in these labor camps indefinitely. Undoubtedly, much of the recent construction development in Qatar is being done to prepare for the World Cup in 2022.

To further explore the topic of virtue ethics, I used the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy which yielded a great number of articles. One article entitled Virtue Ethics caught my eye, and due to its detailed description of virtue ethics, I will use this article in my research. I have not been able to find an article that involves FIFA, Qatar, labor camps, and virtue ethics, so I suppose I will have to make my own connections.

2 responses to “Virtue Ethics

  1. I agree with Jordi that you will have to make these connections in your paper. Reading about how employers take employees passports really struck my eye and I think this should definitely be addressed in great detail in your paper. I’ve never heard about this until now. Is it something people have known about for a while? Is anyone doing anything to try and fight what these companies are doing?

    Like

Leave a Reply

