Society Proposal


For my white paper I plan on examining the policy area of waste management. I am very interested in this topic because it is something that involves everyone on Earth (both directly and indirectly) and is an industry that directly affects the fields of business, politics, and society simultaneously.

My interest in this topic has risen from my long-time interest in recycling and sustainability. I have always considered myself an environmentally-concious person and think that sustainability is something that will be crucial in the future of business. I also have taken multiple classes from high school to college on environmental science to give me further knowledge of the topic. My current view on the topic of waste management is that it is an essential field for society to operate, but I wonder what the duty of the field is. Is it to keep the environment clean, to make money, or to maximize utility of materials? In addition I want to study how each stakeholder (business, government, and society) is responsible in the process of waste production/management.

The resources that I found for the societal section are Bucknell’s “Universal Waste Management Plan” and the “Climate Action Plan for Bucknell University”. These resources are valuable because they provide the perspective of waste management from a university, specifically the one that I attend which makes them even more personally interesting. I also am very familiar with these documents and have used them in the past when writing my environmental writing course final paper on recycling at Bucknell. These documents define the objective of Bucknell in terms of waste management, requirements for the handling of types of waste, and the goals in terms of waste reduction as Bucknell looks towards the future.

I believe that these resources are reliable because they are published by Bucknell University and follow the American College and University Presidents Climate Commitment standards. I also have met with Merritt Pedrick, Bucknell’s Associate Director for Facilities Operations, in the past to discuss these documents and so I am confident in their credibility and reliability.

http://rs.acupcc.org/site_media/uploads/cap/608-cap.pdf

https://www.bucknell.edu/Documents/Safety/UW-Management-Plan.pdf

Leave a Reply

